Treaty of Yandabu / Yandabo / Yandaboo

Treaty of Yandabo (also spelled Yandabu or Yandaboo) or Yandabu Accord was the peace treaty that resulted in end of First Anglo Burmese War. This treaty was signed on February 24, 1826 after two years of the war between British and Burmese.

Main Conditions of the Treaty

Treaty was signed between East India Company and King of Ava (Ava was capital of Burma from 1364-1841). As per this treaty:

  • Assam, Manipur, Arakan, Taninthai were ceded to British.
  • The Burmese had to cease interference in Chachar Kingdom and Jaintia Hills.
  • Burmese agreed to pay an indemnity of One million Pounds sterling to British.
  • Burmese agreed to allow diplomatic representatives from British.
  • Burmese also agreed to sign a commercial treaty in due course of time.

Consequences of the Treaty

The first among the above five conditions led to Annexation of Assam in British India. This treaty ended not only the most expensive war of British in Indian territory but also led to end of independence of Burmese in due course. It resulted in end of the Third Burmese Empire (which was known as terror of British India). Burma was no longer a threat to British on eastern frontiers.